XS650: Manuals   Leave a comment

When I first started playing with these ladies I went out and bought myself a manual – Haynes. Made my eyes sore. Print far too fine. Badly printed on paper so absorbant, it spread. Cheap n nasty.

I have others.  Clymer, Chilton, Clinton, some in Dutch, some German. None  particularly good. Many not even coming close.  I like manuals – Basics aren’t a problem –  Every machine has its idiosyncracies tho’.  I know I do (and no manual).

 

… … HaJo Pahl … vibrates even in print

 

In truth I guess the best manual I’ve found isn’t accessible in english.  Luckily I read German. HaJo Pahl on the XS650 motor:  ‘Der XS650 Motor-Aufbau und Funktion’ . Explains the components as functioning entities. Details the weaknesses and wear points. I translated most of this book for myself, and even spoken to him about publishing an English version but he didnt see the advantage. Schade. Accessible online. In German. Reading only – great pictures.

Now in English.

 

hj pahl english xs650

… English version, 2017 …

 

… XS1 – It all started here

 

Over the years I’ve assembled a collection of original Yamaha Manuals, Supplementary Manuals and Information Booklets. Superior. Mostly great printing. Better quality pictures. Original US versions  are for me better – in English – A4 format.

European versions are in 3 languages. Lower quality reproduction. Smaller.

No preference. I like the last. XS650SJ-SK.

 

… XS650SJ/SK – the last XS models

 

Or go here to Yamaha. You can order the original manuals new. How’s that?

The German XS650 site has accessible online a manual for XS650E including later supplements – in english…also found at knucklebuster or  biker.net

Manuals

… XS1, XS2, TX650, TX650A Service Manual 1970-74

… XS650B Service Manual 1975

… XS650E Service Manual plus Supplements

… XS650SJ/K Service Manual

Some Parts Manual breakdowns.

 

More Parts Manuals:

XS1_XSB_XS2_TX650

XS650

XS650D_E_F

XS650G

XS650_H

XS650SE_SF_SG

XS650SH

XS650SJ

XS650SK

 

 

Yamaha Parts

Biker.net also has many parts manuals online..scroll down in the left bar to XS/TX 650 Manuals

Leave a comment